Fantasy · Read-Reviewed-2024

The Invisible Library by Genevieve Cogman. (2015).

The Invisible Library by Genevieve Cogman. (2015).
(The Invisible Library; #1)

**4 out of 5 stars**

Irene is a professional spy for the mysterious Library, which harvests fiction from different realities. Along with her new enigmatic assistant Kai, she posted to an alternate London. Their mission is to retrieve a dangerous book. But it’s already been stolen and a few factions seem prepared to fight to the death to find it. This alternate world is chaos-infested – the laws of nature bent to allow supernatural creatures and unpredictable magic. Kai is also hiding a secret. Soon, Irene is in a mix of danger, clues and secret societies. But failure is not an option when the nature of reality itself is at stake…

Approximately a year ago someone recommended this series to me and I faithfully added it to my TBR list, but then took that long to get to it! Now I only have myself to blame for the fact that I could have read the entire series in the past 12 months but instead I’m just getting started. There’s a lot of things about this one that are appealing to me: a secret Library, a spy librarian, a potential love interest, fantasy elements, action, mystery… it was a really engaging read. The characters are a great mix, and I look forward to getting to know them more in the next book. This story is a really fun read that begins the action from the first page and continues to the very end.
Overall: for those wanting to start a fantasy adventure series, this one would be a great pick.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.